Catch A Wave

I uploaded a video to YouTube introducing a quilt project I am working on. I call it Catch A Wave and it is my version of the classic Ocean Waves quilt.

Here is the link to the video  https://youtu.be/ij1eR6TkCoA

I have always loved the Ocean Wave quilts and I had 2 1/2″ strips that were calling to me so I have started on this quilt.  Limiting my palette of colors to just blues, greens, and the shades in between. The quilt image shown below is the lap size.

The block is an 8″ block made up of triangles in two different sizes.  Ten 2 1/2″ half square triangle units in each block as well as four more 2 1/2″ half square triangles and two 4 1/2″ half square triangles.

I’m using different shades of orange on the opposite corners to add some sparkle to the quilt and to help hide  my less than stellar machine quilting abilities.

The simple pieced border blocks I selected for this quilt are the same size in length as the main block which allows me to sew the border blocks to the quilt blocks during the row assembly.  I love this construction method!

Please feel free to share the video link with any of your friends and quilting groups that you belong to. https://youtu.be/ij1eR6TkCoA

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel.  Thanks!

I am also continuing a free pattern offer: When you purchase a book from my website you can receive a free pattern of your choice from any of my published patterns (retail value $10 or less) .

Write the name of the pattern in the “Inscription Area” next to your book selection.

One free pattern per book purchased. Yes if you purchase more than one book you may select a free pattern for each book purchased!

You must write in the pattern name at the time of purchase, if a pattern name is not written in a free pattern will not be shipped after the book is shipped.   http://www.patspeth.com/store.html

Thank you,

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel QuiltsMore Nickel Quilts, Amazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com

www.patspeth.com

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Catch A Wave

  1. Oh, that looks terrific in blues and greens! It looks like you’ve simplified this block, so I’m definitely going to take a look at the video. I’ve missed your posts! I hope you are well.

Leave a comment