Books I’ve Been Listening To

I discovered Goodreads and find I can spend a lot of time there recording the books I have read and then finding lots of new ones to add to my “want to read” list. I very seldom actually ever “read” a book, I normally listen to them. I am incredibly fortunate that Minnesota has a wonderful library system and if a book is on cd it is probably in one of the libraries somewhere in the state and I am able to request it and have it sent to my local branch!  Many are also on MP3 as downloads and I don’t even have to leave home to check them out. What a huge savings that is for me, I can’t even begin to imagine what it would cost me to purchase over 200 audio books a year, and that is about how many I listen to in a year’s time!

Here a just a few of the books I finished this last week:

Guards! Guards!, it’s book #8 in Terry Pratchett’s  Discworld series. I love this series, there are forty books total and I’ve already decided that when I finally finish the series I will start it over again!

Guards Guards

The Deeds of the Disturber, it’s book #5 in Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody series. Love this series also and I have started my second time of listening to this series!

The Deeds of the Disturber

A new author and series I found by looking at what other people have enjoyed on Goodreads is the Inspector Ian Rutledge series by Charles Todd. I just finished A Test of Wills, the first book in the series and enjoyed it a lot.

A Test of Wills

With audio books I am able to quilt and enjoy books at the same time!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel QuiltsMore Nickel Quilts, Amazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com

www.patspeth.com

3 thoughts on “Books I’ve Been Listening To

  1. I still read with book in hand in the evenings….
    But…
    Driving, sewing, weeding, cooking dinner I have an audio book going more often then naught. I found that I can do 1000 miles in a day (my home in central Oregon to San Diego Ca.) with the right audio book or books as the case maybe.(I have to turn it off going thru LA) I don’t snack nearly as much on the road either!
    We also have what they call here an interlibrary loan system and I LOVE IT>>> makes my small town library as large and varied as any big cities !!!!

  2. I LOVED all the Charles Todd books, both series, and can hardly wait for the next to come out. I’m so fascinated that a mother-son team writes them. I can never get my son to write anything but Star Trek sims with me! I’m going to look up the other two series, as I’ve never read a lot of Pratchett and don’t know about Elizabeth Peters. Thanks! Maybe in return you might like to see if you can find Ben Aaronovitch, Peter Grant series.

Leave a Reply

