Troll Quilt

This is the quilt I brought along with me to sleep under on my Michigan trip. It is not a Nickel Quilt (a quilt made using 5″ squares), I made this years ago for my daughter Roxie and somehow it ended up back at my house. Roxie went through a Troll phase when she was very young and on one of my annual trips to Paducah, Hobby Lobby had all this Troll fabric on sale.  I remember calling Roxie while I was in the store and asking her if she would like a quilt with troll fabric in it. That was the start of the miscommunication on this quilt.  Roxie assumed since I normally use 150 + fabrics in the quilts I make that she would be getting a quilt with a few pieces of troll fabric in it.  It’s all troll fabric!

Troll Quilt

I utilized techniques from the One Block Wonders book and the method I used on my Twist and Shout Quilt. I had so much fun working on this and seeing the fun designs emerging.

Block 1

 

Block 2b

Troll feet!

Block 3

 

Block 4

When making this troll quilt and my Twist and Shout quilt the blocks are created when two rows are sewn together, that way there are no Y seams or set in seams. This is my Twist and Shout quilt and yes it is a Nickel Quilt, a quilt made using 5″ squares.

Twist and Shout cropped

Both of these are fun quilts to make and I always love the way a black background sets off the fabrics!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel QuiltsMore Nickel Quilts, Amazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com

www.patspeth.com

 

2 thoughts on “Troll Quilt

  1. It may be all troll fabric, but so many of the blocks, you can’t tell. I really like it – so bright and cheerful!

Leave a Reply

