Antiquing Stop In Illinois

An antiquing stop in South Beloit, Illinois; two malls in same town.  I browsed around in Angela’s Attic first and then right across the road was the Roscoe Antique Mall. How convenient!

Angelas antique mall

Roscoe antique mall

Many years ago I bought my daughter Roxie a set of the Pyrex mixing bowls. Recently one has broken so I’m on the lookout for a replacement. I think that’s a great excuse to go antiquing!  It turns out not all the sets are colored the same, who knew? Roxie’s set has the yellow large bowl and she is missing the second from the smallest bowl which in her set is red.

Pyrex bowls

An Amish made covered basket; I have a collection of the Amish baskets started but I have found several of these at local thrift stores for a fraction of the antique mall’s prices. The very first Amish basket I ever bought was on one of my trips at a travel plaza stop. An Amish lady was there with her buggy and had set out a huge assortment of baskets and homemade jams. I have a real appreciation for anything handmade, whether it’s quilts, baskets, or jams I love it all!

Covered Amish Basket

There were very few quilts in these two malls however I think this one would make a wonderful leaders and enders project. I can just see this very scrappy with hundreds of different fabrics!

Tree Quilt

I came really close to getting this for my garden!

Sewing machine tractor

I love it when I come across something I’ve never seen before and this basket cart was a first for me. A great alternative to the wire shopping carts.

Basket Cart

That was enough leg stretching and eye candy for me, it was then back on the road, and next stop home!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel QuiltsMore Nickel Quilts, Amazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

4 thoughts on “Antiquing Stop In Illinois

  1. I only have one pyrex bowl left. got them as a wedding shower gift 43 years ago. my only survivor is the large one and it’s green
    Joan Garland in GA

  2. Wow, what a fun stop! I love where you stretched. I can’t believe you didn’t buy that to put in your garden. =)

Leave a Reply

