Moose County Star New Fabric Choices

This is my Moose County Star quilt which I love to make; I’ve made it four times! Once as the twin size shown and three times as a lap size quilt. I do realize that not everyone likes the “Lodge Look” as much as I do so I played around with a couple of other fabric choices in EQ6.

Moose County Star

I always have fun switching a lodge look quilt into bright and bold. Replacing the cream and light tan fabrics with white, replacing the gold fabric with a black print.

Bright and Bold Moose County Star copy

Red, cream, blue is always a popular fabric style. Still using creams and light tans and the background fabric but now controlling the other colors and using a variety of blues and reds in prints and plaids.

Red Cream and Blue Moose County Star copy

The construction on this quilt is so fun and easy! First it’s all half-square-triangle units made from 5″ squares or plain squares, and second the pieced border is sewn onto the blocks before the rows are sewn together. The only time you have to sew something all the way around the edge of the quilt is when you are adding on the binding!

Moose County Star is one of my individual patterns, in three sizes, and is available on my website.

Have fun playing with different fabric choices!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

This information is copyright protected
© 2015 Pat Speth
All rights reserved.
This pattern/design is for your personal, non-commercial use only.
You are not allowed to mass produce this information.

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

One thought on “Moose County Star New Fabric Choices

  1. I do like this, and the red/cream/blue is very appealing to me. I like that the borders are sewn on as you go, and think I’d like to make it three by four. It’s on my list of things to get now. As soon as I finish several ongoing projects. =)

Leave a Reply

