Faithful Circle Quilters Guild in Downers Grove, IL

I just finished up two great days with the Faithful Circle Quilters Guild in Downers Grove, Illinois. I presented my Fabulous Nickel Borders lecture for their guild and at show and tell I was treated with seeing one of my designs made by a guild member.  This is Four Patch Plaid and is found in Nickel Quilts or The Big Book of Nickel Quilts.  I love the very scrappiness of this quilt!

Four Patch Plaid

The workshop they selected was my Picket Fence Units workshop in which five different quilts can be worked on all in the same workshop!

These are some blocks from the Chesapeake and Dawn to Dusk quilts. Chesapeake is an individual pattern and Dawn to Dusk is found in my More Nickel Quilt book as well as The Big Book of Nickel Quilts.

Chesapeake

These three different sets of blocks are all for the Pinwheel on Parade quilt. The fabric choices were; Christmas prints, pastels for a baby quilt, and batiks.  Pinwheels on Parade is from More Nickel Quilt book as well as The Big Book of Nickel Quilts.

Pinwheels on Parade A

Pinwheels on Parade B

Pinwheels on Parade C

Below are some Woodland Clover blocks. The first set is very much like what I made for my quilt and the second block is a good example of controlling the fabrics more within one block.

Woodland Clover

Woodland B

In this workshop I did find a kindred spirit, a quilter using plaids from Upcycled 100% cotton shirts!

Plaids from shirts

As always, I am looking forward to seeing some finished quilts from this workshop!

Pat

This information is copyright protected
© 2015 Pat Speth
All rights reserved.
This pattern/design is for your personal, non-commercial use only.
You are not allowed to mass produce this information.
Pat Speth author of:  Nickel QuiltsMore Nickel Quilts, Amazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

2 thoughts on “Faithful Circle Quilters Guild in Downers Grove, IL

  1. What a great workshop – love the name of the guild. I like the recyled plaid shirts, too! There are lots in Knoxville because I guess men here wear them a lot. =) Thanks for sharing how versatile this picket fence block is.

  2. Thanks to my sister I am the proud owner of a huge box of plaid scraps already cut from mens shirts purchased at thrift stores. I guess I better get busy!

Leave a Reply

