Update on Test Quilt From Sheets

The test quilt made from sheets has been tumbled and pummeled in fourteen dryer loads so far and is looking great! The sheets used are 100% cotton.

large view

I’ve included a few close ups below where you can see that there is no sign of fraying due to thread breakage on the high thread count sheets.  I’ll continue to add the test quilt to dryer loads to see what the results are after 25 or 50 loads but I’m happy enough with these results that I’ll continue to experiment with adding the solids from sheets to future quilting projects.

close up A

 

Close up B

 

Close up C

Besides quilts for your own use this might be a nice option for material used in charity quilts. I know when I’m at guild meetings across the country I often hear requests from the Charity Quilt Committees for donations of fabrics, especially for backs.

Have fun with this idea!
Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

6 thoughts on “Update on Test Quilt From Sheets

  1. I have always heard not to use sheets as part of a quilt but due to a lack a resources in my area I started using them years ago as the backs for my quilts. I’ve not had a problem with any of them. And now if a scrap ends up on the front, oh well…. Must have been meant to be. When someone, who is supposed to know more than me about quilting, says not to use a sheet I just smile and keep my mouth shut.

  2. Happy to get your update. I’ve begun using thrift store cotton sheets on the back om my quilts. Good to know the hold up well.

Leave a Reply

