Apple Crisp

When I was at my quilt retreat I had every intention of eating an apple every day.  Well, towards the end of the week I still had many of the apples left and since we did bring everything to make oatmeal each morning,  between a few of us we had all the ingredients needed to make Apple Crisp!

Apples

So fast and easy to throw together, this might turn into a tradition.

apples sliced

Right out of the oven, but before we can dive into it there is something missing.

out of the oven

Yes! Frozen custard!  There is a Culver’s only a few miles away and I took it as a sign that we needed some frozen custard with our apple crisp especially when we had coupons for sundaes.  Yes, caramel sundaes are the perfect addition to apple crisp.

with frozen yogurt

I used the apple crisp recipe straight from the Betty Crocker website , there is something very comforting about a great old traditional recipe that needs no improvement.

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel QuiltsMore Nickel Quilts, Amazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

2 thoughts on “Apple Crisp

  1. What a great idea. I am making apple cake with oatmeal today for the same reason. I have them left over.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Betty Crocker was my first cookbook, and I’ve gone through four, until they fell apart! That’s how I still make apple crisp 40 years later. How serendipitous! I haven’t had Culver ice cream since my wedding day, I’m pretty sure!

Leave a Reply

