Sounds of Summer

I was up early today and enjoyed the chorus of crickets and katydids before the louder sounds of daytime activity had a chance to cover them up. I tend to have my windows open as much as possible this time of year and listening to the birds in spring and early summer is always a treat, they are so loud around my house that they drown out the cricket chorus. So it’s special just to hear to the cricket chorus before fall settles in.

cricket copy

When I travel I sometimes have to cover up the noises in the hotel rooms in order to sleep. One of my favorite ways of doing this is to play a long Youtube recording and this is a great one of crickets:

Sleep to Sounds of Forest Peepers

Thunderstorms rolled through during the night and the rain was much appreciated, my flowers are in a pretty sorry condition after being neglected during the three weeks I was gone. As I was listening to the storm in the middle of the night I thought how accommodating Mother Nature is to bring us the rain we need in the middle of the night and not to interfere with the Minnesota State Fair activities!

State Fair

I’m not going to the fair this year, but thousands are.  Over the twelve days of the fair attendance averages 1.7 million, with the biggest on this the final weekend when attendance has been as much as 236,00 in one day! I’m putting it on my list of things to do again next year!

Make it a great day!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

One thought on “Sounds of Summer

Leave a Reply

