Summer Break

Summer is coming to an end, the days are getting shorter, garden harvests are at a peak, and kids are going back to school.  Remember going back to school and catching up with everyone on what they did during the summer, that’s the way I feel right now.

I haven’t posted a blog in a while; I had a wonderful busy teaching travel schedule, tried to keep up with my gardens, and just returned from a three week vacation with my kids.  We went to Denmark, Sweden, and Norway; I saw only one quilt shop the whole time. The fabric was $32 a yard! That might explain why I only saw the one quilt shop. However yarn shops and sweater shops were everywhere!  The designs of the Nordic sweaters are amazing and I am going to give them a try sometime with upcycled cotton yarn.

Sweater

I’ve started giving away balls of upcycled yarn at some of my quilting workshops. I tell people that since I turned my hobby into my full time career, after a few years I discovered I wanted another hobby, but not another one that I needed to spend over $2,000 a year on! I have challenged myself to limit my knitting to using only upcycled yarn.  Most of the people in the workshops have never thought about upcycling thrift store sweaters into other projects. The balls of yarn I give away are enough to make a dishcloth, just the right project to get started with upcycled yarn.

Upcycled yarn

I’m home for a couple of weeks now and looking forward to catching up on some things.  I’ll start back on the Deli Geese Block Project soon!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel QuiltsAmazing Nickel QuiltsNickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.
Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

2 thoughts on “Summer Break

  1. Pat – so glad to see this post. I was getting worried about you since we’ve not heard from you for awhile. Glad to hear you are well and back from a great vacay!

  2. Welcome back! I’ll have to check out the feasibility of the yarn around here. Our thrift shops are not all that thrifty! =(

Leave a Reply

