Lamoni, Iowa and Clinton, Oklahoma

I’m in Oklahoma teaching this week and decided to drive rather than fly.  I do find driving, when not driving in severe thunderstorms with 70 mile an hour winds and hail, relaxing!

Map

I broke the drive up and spent the first night in Lamoni, Iowa.  My hotel was just across the road from this Amish Country Store so of course I had to stop in and browse.

Amish Country Store

They had Amish baskets galore, one for every possible use!

Amish Baskets

I spotted some Amish buggies in the evening and in the morning when I took to the road again.

buggy

My first teaching stop was Clinton, Oklahoma where I had the pleasure of working with the Western Oklahoma Quilters for a couple of days.  Clinton, Oklahoma with a population of 9,300 is not large town so I was surprised at first to see so many tourists in the hotel I was staying at.  Then I remembered passing some Route 66 signs along my drive that day.  Sure enough Clinton, Oklahoma, with Oklahoma’s Route 66 Museum is a much visited stop.

Route 66 Museum

During my first night in Clinton, Oklahoma I woke during the night to the sounds of thunder and rain! I said before that rain follows me around and the quilters assured me it was a much needed rain so I’m glad I was able to bring it with me!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

4 thoughts on “Lamoni, Iowa and Clinton, Oklahoma

  1. What fun to be in Iowa Amish country. It also has history with the LDS church, though a break-off group, now called the Community of Christ. The name Lamoni comes from a king in the Book of Mormon. I would love to go to the Rt. 66 museum, having lived at the western edges of it much of my life. It runs right through northern Arizona. I wouldn’t mind being there right now. =) Oklahoma and Texas get some scary thunderstorms sometimes. I’m glad yours wasn’t so much! I know your students are having a lot of fun learning from you.

  2. I have friends in Lamoni, and have been thinking of visiting. This post has given me an additional nudge!

Leave a Reply

