Weekend Without Power

It seems as if storms are following me everywhere, if I’m not driving through them they go camping with me and also follow me home!  Earlier this month I went camping with my daughter Roxie and her husband Tom for a few days and it rained every day.

This last weekend while I was in town storms came through with high winds and knocked out power to over 100,000 homes in the Twin Cities area. My power went out early on Saturday and was not restored until Sunday evening. I am not used to being without electricity! No sewing, no computer work, and no microwave!

I managed to keep myself busy however and I was in the middle of making this macaroni salad when the power went out.

macaroni salad

I am fortunate that I have a gas stove so I was able to boil eggs and make tuna salad on Sunday.  I have always thought a tuna salad sandwich is a perfect summer time lunch. The lettuce is from my garden!

Tuna Salad

In between storms that weekend I did have a chance to go out and do some weeding in my vegetable and flower gardens.  I planted five different kinds of lettuce and kale and I am already sharing lettuce with my neighbors.

Lettuce

Green beans are looking great!

Green Beans

Lots of strawberries, I hope I am home when some of these ripen!

Strawberries

We have now had rain for five days in a row and more is expected tonight, my gardens love it!  Last year we were in a drought and I had a $375 water bill to keep my garden growing. Someone mentioned to me that surely the cost of putting in and maintaining the garden has to be more than buying the produce at a store, yes it is but for me gardening is not about trying to save money. It’s about getting outside and enjoying our beautiful summer weather, digging in the dirt, watching the miracle of plants growing from seed, eating food that has been grown without any chemicals, and sharing my garden’s bounty with others!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

Leave a Reply

