Flowers Love Rain!

I was out this morning deadheading the flowers between rain showers. I planted three flats of begonias before the rain started yesterday. Checking my rain gauge just to see how much rain we had in the last twenty four hours and discovering it was a whopping four inches and more in the forecast!  My flowers and vegetable plants are very happy!

Below are some of the some of the flowers I am able to enjoy every day!

Winky Blue Columbine a perennial

Winky Blue Columbine

Winky Purple Columbine a perennial

Winky Purple Columbine

Petunias, I love the simple basic flowers and petunias will continue to bloom all summer long!

Petunia Blue and purple

Petunia pink stripe

Dianthus, an annual that I have not planted before so I am curious to see what this does during the season.

Dianthus

Marigolds, the gold and yellows add so much color to the flower beds!

Marigolds

As I was editing the photos for this blog it dawned on me that when I selected the flowers for my flower beds I chose them like I choose fabrics for a quilt; with a variety of shapes, color, and size!

Make it a great day!
Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

4 thoughts on “Flowers Love Rain!

  1. I love the columbine. I’m going to have to investigate getting some. Beautiful pictures, thank you! The Dianthus should do really well. Mine even survived the freezing winter that killed my rosemary which had survived 4 winters!

  2. That vibrant blue petunia is just gorgeous!!!
    I live in Maine, and 5 of the 6 dianthus I planted last summer came back. No flowers yet, but I’m hoping!!

Leave a Reply

