Winter Carnival Part 2

I’ve made progress on my Winter Carnival quilt! The twenty checkerboard blocks are done and I have started on the pieced sashing.

Checkerboard blocks done

This quilt is going to have 49 pieced sashing sections. To make the pieced sashing I’m actually digging into my stash of 2 1/2″ strips because I have a lot of those in addition to my tubs of 5″ squares!

I’m teaming up plaid 2 1/2″ x 5″ rectangles with print rectangles into what I think look like great combinations.  These I will sew into two patches, then join three two patches together for a total length of 12 1/2″.

Rectangles for Sashing

Winter Carnival is one of the ten quilts I am making and giving to charity in celebration of my ten year anniversary in quilting as my full time profession.  I will post the remaining details for making this quilt in future blogs so you join in on the fun! The first blog post on this quilt is found here.

Quilt size:  68″ x 84″
Materials:
An assortment of 164 dark or medium 5″ squares for the checkerboard blocks and sashing or 2 1/2″ strips can also be used.
Background –  2 1/3 yards of all one fabric or assorted fabrics. This is enough for the checkerboard blocks and the hourglass cornerstones.
Dark or medium fabric for the hourglass cornerstones – 1/2  yard
Dark or medium tone on tone for the opposite edges on the pieced sashing – 1 1/2 yard
Checkerboard with pieced sashing copy

This quilt as well as many others that I make, uses 5″ squares.  It’s a great quilt for charm packs, layer cakes, and of course stash fabrics.

Enjoy!
Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

This information is copyright protected
© 2014 Pat Speth
All rights reserved.
This pattern/design is for your personal, non-commercial use only.
You are not allowed to mass produce this information.

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

4 thoughts on “Winter Carnival Part 2

  1. I’ve been waiting to see this quilt come together. I Love the sashing setting you have chosen.
    I”m working on this also but am way behind.
    Joan in GA

  2. Pat, I love how crisp and beautiful your blocks are. The sashing intrigues me, too. I look forward to the rest of the information on these.

  3. Thank you for sharing this pattern! I have made a couple of your quilts and I love how they come together. This will make a great charity quilt as you stated. I love the looks of all the different fabrics.

Leave a Reply

