Winter Carnival

I’ve made a start on this quilt and I’m naming it Winter Carnival, after the oldest and largest winter festival held in this country which just happens to take place right here in Saint Paul, MN.

This is one of the ten quilts I am making and giving to charity in celebration of my ten year anniversary in quilting as my full time profession.  I will post the remaining details for making this quilt in future blogs so you join in on the fun!

Quilt size:  68″ x 84″
Materials:
An assortment of 164 dark or medium 5″ squares for the checkerboard blocks and sashing
Background –  2 1/3 yards of all one fabric or assorted fabrics. This is enough for the checkerboard blocks and the hourglass cornerstones.
Dark or medium fabric for the hourglass cornerstones – 1/2  yard
Dark or medium tone on tone for the opposite edges on the pieced sashing – 1 1/2 yard

Checkerboard with pieced sashing copy

I’m beginning with the checkerboard blocks and making them from four patches.  You can make these checkerboard blocks from 5″ squares or 2 1/2″ strips; whatever you have on hand and like to work with. For my main fabrics I’m using half plaids and half prints.

two patches one plaid one print

I’ve stitched up a storm and have plates full of two patches (my version of a Minnesota Hot Dish)!

Plates of two patches

Once I’ve gotten this far in the process and have two patches, I start matching them up with one print and one plaid into what I think will be wonderful fabric combinations for my four patches!

matching up two patches to make four patches

This quilt as well as many others that I make, uses 5″ squares.  It’s a great quilt for charm packs, layer cakes, and of course stash fabrics.

Enjoy!
Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

This information is copyright protected
© 2014 Pat Speth
All rights reserved.
This pattern/design is for your personal, non-commercial use only.
You are not allowed to mass produce this information.

To schedule a Nickel Quilt lecture or workshop contact Pat at the email below.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

3 thoughts on “Winter Carnival

  1. Love the layout. Really like the patchwork “between” the sashing. Have fun with Winter Carnival in St Paul. I remember with fondness our visit in 1985! Was so fun to walk on the lake in our “moon boots” and snow pants. We got a great list of “sledding hills” when we were there, and enjoyed our time in the Twin Cities.

  2. Somehow, I missed this wonderful post and just now found it. I love that quilt! As soon as I finish my current leader-ender project, I think I’ll use this one.

Leave a Reply

