Sweet Land of Liberty Part 5

Right now I’m in California and the temperature could get up to 74° today.  When I left Saint Paul yesterday morning it was -12°!  During my down time today, and before the lecture tonight, I am alternating computer work with walking laps around the parking lot of the hotel were I am staying. I just can’t pass up taking advantage of this great weather!

Now for the borders on the Sweet Land of Liberty quilt.  I utilized my planned leftover half square triangles in this pieced border.  I sewed them together, changing direction in the center of each border.

Pieced Border Strips

Many times when adding a pieced border, I rely on an inner border to make my pieced border fit my quilt; not this time. With this pieced border I am going to adjust the pieced border in the center by inserting coping strips or taking a larger seam.

This is a close up of the center portion of the pieced border, with the half square triangles changing direction, and before the adjustments were made.

Center before coping piece

After measuring my quilt top and my pieced borders I discovered that I needed to add a couple of inches to the top and bottom borders to make them fit the quilt top.  So I just ripped out the center seam and inserted this coping strip.

Top and bottom with coping piece

The side borders were just 1/2″  to long to fit the quilt, so I simply took in the center seam. Yes I chose a different treatment for the side borders than I did for the top and bottom borders, I love making up my own rules!

Sides with center tuck

And here is the quilt top with borders added! It’s pinned onto my design wall sideways.

Top with Borders added

On my list of things to do when I get home is to load this on the longarm and get it quilted!

Of course this quilt is a great use of 5″ squares!

Enjoy!
Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,   More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  Nickel Quilts & Borders, and The Big Book of Nickel Quilts

This information is copyright protected
© 2014 Pat Speth
All rights reserved.
This pattern/design is for your personal, non-commercial use only.
You are not allowed to mass produce this information.

Email: pat@patspeth.com
www.patspeth.com

2 thoughts on “Sweet Land of Liberty Part 5

Leave a Reply

