Large Flying Geese from Half Square Triangles

I have a project in mind that is going to use many large Flying Geese units made from Half Square Triangles.  I’m using two half square triangles that have been squared up to 4 1/2″ containing different dark or medium fabrics to make my large flying geese units.

Two HST

Press one to the dark and one to the light.

HST Units with arrows

I’m going to arrange these into dark flying geese units for now.

Arranged for Dark FG

But you could also arrange the units to form light flying geese units.

Arranged for Light FG

When sewing these units together, place the unit pressed to the light on the right and the one pressed to the dark on the left.  Then when sewing these units together, your sewing machine will help nestle the seams by forcing the top seam into the bottom seam.

Large FG Unit with pressing arrows

I sew them together and press the seam open to reduce the bulk. I have used these large flying geese units before in several quilts and enjoy making them.  This large flying geese unit measures 4 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ unfinished.

Units Sewn Together

A while ago I started looking at these units in a new way and decided to play around with them by cutting them in half.  Now I have Top Units and Bottom Units that measure 2 1/4″ x 8 1/2″ unfinished.

FG Unit Cut in Half

Coming up in my next blog I will reveal what I am going to do with these new units!

Pat

Pat Speth author of:  Nickel Quilts,    More Nickel Quilts,    Amazing Nickel Quilts,  and  Nickel Quilts & Borders

This information is copyright protected

© 2013 Pat Speth
All rights reserved.
This pattern/design is for your personal, non-commercial use only.
You are not allowed to mass produce this information.

Email: pat@patspeth.com

www.patspeth.com

7 thoughts on “Large Flying Geese from Half Square Triangles

  1. I am new to making quilts, but I have adored and been fastinated by the processes and work that goes into making quilts. I have not purchased a book of yours yet, but will be in the next few days…just have to decide which one. I am so excited to try the new Deli geese block, and your 365 blocks are going to be exciting to look forward to. Thanks for sharing your talents!

  2. I have two of your books and love then, your instructions are very clear, I have made a number of your quilts, look forward to your next book, but will follow your blog with interest

  3. Hello Pat!
    It enjoyed your lecture and class here in Virginia 2011. I designed a nice quilt using your Millennium Star block, for which I have cited you as design source when showing to guild. I want to submit the quilt to larger venues, and would need your permission. I need a valid email address to peruse this with you. Thank you very much. BTW, I will bring this quilt to VCQ in April to show you! Pat Winters

Leave a Reply

