Zucchini Muffins

The squash has started coming in, so now to start using it.  I was almost going to say “use it up” but I don’t think that is possible.  It’s sort of like saying “use up my fabric stash,” that will never happen; all I can hope for is to use some of it.

Here is my recipe for Zucchini Muffins:

Ingredients

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

3 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup applesauce

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

3 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 – 3 1/2 cups grated zucchini or yellow or summer squash*

1 cup chopped walnuts

*Original recipe I started with called for just 2 cups, I use up to 3 1/2 cups of squash – I like the moistness of the extra squash. The whole wheat flour, brown sugar, applesauce, and nutmeg are also my variations to the original recipe.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°

1. Combine flour, salt, baking powder, soda, nutmeg, and cinnamon together in a bowl, stir to mix.

2.  In another bowl beat eggs, oil, applesauce, vanilla, and sugars together. Add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well.  Stir in zucchini and nuts until well combined.  Pour batter into cupcake-size muffin cups. Filling to within 1/4 inch from top.

3. Bake for 25  – 35 minutes (less time might be needed if using only 2 cups squash), or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

Muffins

Delish!  Makes 24 muffins.

Muffins by Pat

Plate by Frostbeard Studio

Pat

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Muffins

  1. My mom grew some “foot long” zucchinis. I split them in half lengthwise, scooped out the really big seeds and stuffed the two halves like peppers, put cheese over the tops and baked them on a cookie sheet. I sliced them like a foot long sub sandwich. Good use for “uh oh, we should have picked them weeks ago” zucchini.

Leave a Reply

