Red Snapper

I’ve installed a gadget for my longarm quilting machine called the Red Snapper. On a recent trip a quilter told me about this time saver, so I ordered and thought I’d give it a try.

Red Snapper

The set has rods and clamps designed to fit on three rollers.  It eliminates the need for pins, staples, Velcro, zippers or basting. The system has rods that you insert into a casing on the edge of the canvas leader. Notice on the picture below the zipper still in place; yes I gave that a try years ago and never did like the process. My canvas did not have a casing so I made a temporary one folding over the edge and stapled it just in case I didn’t like this system either.

inserting rods

The top edge clamped on with the Red Snapper, the ugly fabric on the very edge is my leader fabric and not part of the actual quilt.

clamps on top

A picture showing the clamp over the rod past the edge of the quilt.

Clamps over rods

I’ve quilted two quilts using this and so far I like it a lot, much faster than pinning! I always love finding tricks, tips and helpful tools!

Pat

One thought on “Red Snapper

  1. I have them too, but I’ve found that I need a little more backing than I would normally need to pin it on. I have to run the Red Snappers under my “stabilizer bar” or the bed of my machine wants to catch on them. I sure do love loading a machine with them. It saves a lot of time!!!

Leave a Reply

