Turnabout Quilt Assembly

I’m assembling the Turnabout quilt in rows including the pieced border.  I’ve started referring to this method of assembly as “Carefree Borders.”

I used one fabric for the sashing, inner border and binding. If doing the same you will need  2 1/4 yards of fabric.

For the block rows I simply added a 1 1/2″ x 7 1/2″ sashing piece between each block.

Sashing sewn to block

I immediately put the block rows back up on the design wall to admire the view!

Blocks rows sashed

Now I audition the placement of the border blocks.

Placement of the pieced border blocks

Next I sew the side border blocks onto the rows using an inner border piece that measures 2″ x 7 1/2″.

Border Blocks added to rows

For the top and bottom border assembly I used sashing pieces between the border blocks that measure 1 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ and inner border pieces that measure 2″ x 4 1/2″ to join the corner units to the rows.

DSCN2093

The corner units are simply a 4 1/2″ squares with a 2 1/4″ connecting-corner added.

Corner unit

Next I will prepare the sashing rows.

If you think this quilt and its pieced borders are fun your guild would love my Fabulous Nickel Borders lecture!

Pat

3 thoughts on “Turnabout Quilt Assembly

  1. I love your quilts, don’t know how you come up with these ideas. I took one of your classes last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. Most fun of any class I have taken.

  2. I have one of your books in my library and only looked at it last night – this quilt looks really complicated but I’m thinking it may be one of my next!!

Leave a Reply

