A Perfect Winter Evening

I found the perfect way to spend a rainy winter evening. Yes rain, hooray for rain, in St. Paul, MN in January it would normally be snow! I made good progress on the pinwheel blocks for one of the baby quilts.

Pinwheel Blocks

Warmed up with some great tea in a mustache mug(!) my daughter Roxie made. You too can have one of these original mugs, many different styles are available on the Frostbeard etsy site. Yes this is shameless promotion for my daughter!

Mug of Tea

And I listened to, These High Green Hills by Jan Karon.  It’s the third book in her Mitford series and all the books are delightful.  They’re a good change for me from the mysteries I often listen to; sometimes you just need a break from murder and mayhem!

These High Green Hills

What is inspiring for me is to know that Jan Karon the author of these books was over the age of fifty when she left a successful career in advertising to move to the mountain village of Blowing Rock, North Carolina, and write books. “I stepped out on faith to follow my lifelong dream of being an author,” she says. “I made real sacrifices and took big risks. But living, it seems to me, is largely about risk.”

A good example to follow and I think the world is just a little bit better when we do reach for our dreams!

Pat

5 thoughts on “A Perfect Winter Evening

  1. Pat are you ever going to put your block of the day into a calendar for sale???
    Rosemary

    Love the quilt, but still not fond of plaids… LOL

    • All of these plaids are upcycled from shirts so a 24″ ruler works great and keeps me on grain when cutting. When cutting plaids from yardage I open up the fabric and cut only single layers in order to follow the lines of the plaid and stay on grain.

Leave a Reply

