Baby Quilts

It’s the first of the year and time to do one of my favorite things: start a new project!  I have many UFOs, but I love to start new quilts and my daughter Roxie gave me a great excuse to do just that.  Three of her close friends have had babies and she asked me if I would make them quilts.  All three babies are boys and both Roxie and I love the idea of upcyling plaid shirts into quilts.  Also added to these quilts will be pieces of the table runners used at Roxie and Tom’s wedding reception.  These are some of the half-square-triangles in the process of being trimmed.

Trimming in progress

I tell people that half-square-triangles are my favorite unit to make and I’m not lying, I can create a pile of them in no time!

Stack of HST

When I have about three-fourths the number of units made that I need I lay them out to look them over before selecting the remainder of the plaids.  I like to make sure I have a good mix of colors and values.

HST in rows

Now it’s back to the sewing machine to finish the rest of the units and then assemble them into blocks.

Pat

3 thoughts on “Baby Quilts

Leave a Reply

