Baked Potato Soup

It’s that time of year when homemade soups top my list of favorite foods.  I like to make up big batches of soup and freeze containers of them.  When I am at home I try not to eat out, I get enough restaurant food when I travel.  And by planning and cooking ahead, all I have to do for a meal is check out what is in my freezer.  I have a nice big upright in my garage; it was my Christmas gift to myself last year!

First soup of the season – Baked Potato Soup.  Look at all those wonderful ingredients, the recipe is listed below.

What can I say – delish!  And by cooking large batches for several meals this give me more quilting time.

Soup by Pat

Awesome pottery by Roxie Lubanovic (Speth)

Baked Potato Soup

8 Medium baked potatoes w/skins

1 lb bacon

12 green onions finely diced ( 1 medium Onion chopped works just as well)

1 cup celery diced

2 diced carrots

2 cans chicken broth + 1 can water (or 6 cups water and 5 chicken bullion cubes)

1 tsp ground pepper

½ tsp salt

2 tsp parsley

4 tsp garlic & herb pepper

5 cups milk

16 oz of one of these cheeses: mild or sharp cheddar cheese, or american cheese

Instant mashed potato flakes

Shredded cheese for adding to your bowl of soup

This soup does not need to be made all in one day if you are short of time.  You can bake the potatoes, fry the bacon and refrigerate them until the next day.

Dice already baked and cooled potatoes into ½” pieces and set aside. Cut bacon into 2″ pieces and sauté in a large pot until lightly crisp. Remove bacon with a slotted spoon and pour out drippings. Set bacon aside.

Add carrots, celery, and onions to chicken broth and water.

Add seasonings, cover and simmer 15 min.

Add milk and stir in diced potatoes and cheese. Allow to simmer for about 5 – 10 minutes. Begin adding instant potato flakes to thicken, if desired, adding 1 tbsp. at a time until you have a fairly creamy consistency. Simmer for a few minutes allowing the potato flakes to absorb to their max.

Add reserved crumbled bacon pieces, stir in and serve with shredded cheese on top and fresh bread.

Makes 4 3/4 quarts         Serves  8

Enjoy!

Pat

One thought on “Baked Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

