Ripple River Quilt Blocks

I’m home for a few days before my next trip.  The last guild I was at was the Ripple River Quilt Guild in Aitkin, Minnesota.  A very quick trip, drove up one morning for the afternoon lecture, workshop the next day, and drove home right after that.  We had so much to do during the workshop I didn’t even stop to take any pictures but I am hoping that I will get to see pictures of quilts from that workshop soon!

I need to quilt! Do you every feel like that? Like, if you don’t get to spend at least a few hours at your machine with your fabric you will go just a little crazy.  So up to my attic studio where on one design wall I have a quilt almost ready for borders.

I’m not in the mood for borders right now, I just want to piece blocks.  On another design wall I have these blocks that I started several months ago and I decided the perfect name for this quilt is Ripple River.  Now I’m inspired to keep going on the project- it has a name at last, and I don’t have to refer to it as “those rectangle blocks made from bricks.”

I’m working with a variety of upcycled plaids from shirts, 1800’s reproduction prints, and assorted prints in earthy colors.  Six 5″ squares are enough to make two blocks.  Here are some of my fabric choices.

Just some fun easy sewing and these blocks go together fast.  I will add the corner pieces on all at once.

I’m also going to make a couple of extra blocks that will go into a fun sampler quilt someday.

Pat

Leave a Reply

