Planting the Garden

Well, we finally planted the garden last weekend! And when I say “we,” I’m referring to myself, my daughter Roxie, and her fiancé Tom. It was a lot of work, but it’s looking great! And this is the first garden Roxie & I have ever worked on together, so I’m especially excited that they are enjoying it as much as I am. It’s that farmers’ blood in us!

Tom finished up the raised beds, dodging thunderstorms and working in 45 minute segments- it took an entire day! Then the next day we bought additional top soil, compost and peat moss to mix in with the dirt. There are some purchased seedlings and some actual seeds.

I’ve got everything crammed in the beds fairly tightly- closer than planting instructions indicate- but hey, it’s urban gardening- you’ve got to take full advantage of space. And I plan on building frames for the squash and peas so they can grow vertically. I picked a wide variety of veggies: tomatoes, green beans, peppers, lettuce and spinach. Then, there is a bed of root veggies, mostly sweet potatoes and onions, and then a bed of herbs. Basil is by far Rox & Tom’s favorite, so we have multiple rows of that.

Can’t wait to see how they grow, and I hope the critters stay out! Next year I want to plant an entire lettuce garden just for the bunnies, so they leave mine alone!

2 thoughts on “Planting the Garden

  1. Looks wonderful!!! Have you read “Square Food Gardening”? He does a real good job of explaining spacing in raised beds – you can fit A LOT in once you start thinking in blocks instead of rows (it’s like quilting!)

    • No I have not read that book yet but it sounds like one I need to get. I do have “Vertical Gardening” by Derek Fell and “Lasagna Gardening” by Patricia Lanza, both have a lot of good info for a beginner like me!

Leave a Reply

