Adventures in Gardening

When I woke up the other morning, every muscle in my body was aching. Okay that might be stretching the truth a bit – but it sure felt like it. After a week of digging in my yard to start a garden I am feeling it! I even tackled it in small amounts – digging only 10 to 15 minutes at a time. I know I could have hired someone to do this with a tiller but the earth was calling to me and it’s just going to be a small garden this year.

This is me digging into that virgin earth.

Lumber treated with linseed oil and ready for the raised garden beds – four beds 4′ x 8′ each.

My future son-in-law, Tom, is building the beds and the day he set aside to do this it rained most of the day. So at this point we had 2 beds completely built and 2 that needed the top layer of wood added along with some more digging.  But look at the gorgeous black earth!  One of the advantages of living in a 100+ year old house – they didn’t come through and remove all the top soil when this subdivision went in!

Memorial Day is official planting day in this area – finally safe to set your plants out without fear of an overnight frost.  Did I mention it was 93° here one day last week?  So on Sunday I prepared one of the beds for planting – added more dirt to raise the level, along with peat, compost, cow manure, and other good stuff for the soil.

More garden updates to follow.

Pat

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Gardening

  1. Quilting and gardening are quite similar. You get involved in them and time passes all too quickly. I’m jealous of your black soil with no rocks. Not like my area!!! Enjoy your garden and veggies! Beazie in CT

  2. Your beds look great! Mine are 4×4 and I just went from 6 to 9 of them -so I can relate to the digging. Can’t wait to see what you grow!!! We managed to get in our broccoli, pumpkins, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, cukes and watermelons this afternoon (I had a 7 year old helper) – the regulars like rhubarb and perennial herbs are back and happy. Looking forward to more adventures in the garden!

Leave a Reply

